top of page


Woman of the Week (WoW) Award

Do you know someone who is making a difference in the lives of their patients, their colleagues and/or friends and families?  Do you wish there was an easy way to say “thanks for being so awesome”? We are shining a spotlight on the women who inspire us by featuring a winner every week!

CWIM Partners can email with a nomination or click the button below to access the nomination form.

Awards Repository

CWIM Awards

Whether annually or weekly, CWIM Awards recognize the incredible achievements of women physicians in our community.

Annual Award

CWIM Dr. Setareh Ziai
Inspiring Woman Physician Awarda

Do you know someone who should be recognized for her inspiring efforts to support her community, workplace, colleagues, family, or friends? Nominate a fellow Canadian woman physician for this award and honour their contribution.

Nominations are closed and will reopen in early 2025.

2024 Winners

Dr. Renee Fernandez

Dr. Lucie Filteau

Dr. Rshmi Khurana

Dr. Jessica Otte

Dr. Renee Fernandez

Dr. Renee Fernandez is a family doctor in B.C. whose ability to foster inclusivity and courage has transformed the medical leadership landscape, bringing hope for positive change in healthcare. Her tireless advocacy efforts helped create a new funding model to support longitudinal family practice.

Dr. Lucie Filteau

Dr. Lucie Filteau is a remarkable leader and doctor, excelling in education and patient care. She has received awards for teaching, mentorship, and patient safety. She is the president of the Canadian Anesthesia Society and is known for her Lego creations and philanthropic efforts. She is a devoted mother and a supportive friend.

Dr. Rshmi Khurana

Dr. Rshmi Khurana founded the Obstetric Medicine program in Edmonton, filling previously unmet internal medicine needs for pregnant people. She has been a leader in obstetric medicine, both clinically and in research. Colleagues and trainees admire her integrity, compassion, and kindness. Outside of work, she is a dedicated mother, partner, and friend, fostering a community among women physicians.

Dr. Jessica Otte

Dr. Jessica Otte is a family physician specializing in palliative medicine. She advocates for personalized patient care, challenges norms, promotes evidence-based practice and shares her approach through teaching and research. Known for her unique perspective and inspiring leadership, she works to improve healthcare in Nanaimo, B.C. and beyond.

2023 Winners

Dr. Cyndie Horner

Dr. Megan Lyons

Dr. Sarah Morrow

Dr. Alicia Power

Dr. Jane Healey

Dr. Jessica Kirkwood

Dr. Susan Thouin

2022 Winners
2021 Winners

Dr. Suzanne Rutherford

Dr. Fiona Mattatall

Dr. Clover Hemans

Dr. Megan Miller

2020 Winners

Dr. Nadia Alam

Dr. Sara Lea

Dr. Sarah McIsaac

Dr. Nathalie McLaughlin

Dr. Barbra Allen Bradshaw & Dr. Carol Loffelmann (joint winners)

Dr. Sarah Gower

Dr. Kimberly Kelly

Dr. Menaka Pai

2019 Winners
bottom of page