top of page


CWIM’S Inspiring Woman Physician Award 2021

Updated: Nov 22, 2021


Canadian Women in Medicine is honoured and excited to be the recipient of an anonymous donation which has led to the creation of the CWIM Inspiring Woman Physician Award. Inspired herself by the outstanding patient care, vision, and passion of Dr. Setareh Ziai, co-founder and Past President of CWIM, our generous donor wishes to acknowledge the work of other dedicated, skilled, trailblazing women physicians in Canada.

Do you know someone who should be recognized for her inspiring efforts to support her community, workplace, colleagues, family, or friends? Nominate your fellow Canadian woman physician for this award and honour their contribution!

Award: Up to 4 awards will be made available in 2021. Each award consists of:

  • $1000 cash for the winner, to be used however the winner chooses

  • Free conference registration for the winner for CWIM’s 2022 Conference; for details access the conference website: CWIM Conference

  • Free CWIM partnership for the winner and her nominator

Eligibility: The nominator must be a CWIM partner in the current year. The nominee must be a woman physician or medical resident based in Canada. (To join CWIM as a partner, please visit: become a CWIM partner). Only nominations of individual physicians will be considered. Nominations of groups of physicians will be returned to the nominator.

Nomination: The nominator should submit a letter (up to 500 words) describing this amazing individual, how she inspires you or others, and why she should be recognized. A high-quality nomination letter with specific examples will make it easier to assess the award criteria.

Selection: All applications will be reviewed by the CWIM Nominations and Awards Committee according to the creativity, inspiration, impact and support demonstrated in the application. The Committee will put forward their suggested winners to the CWIM Board for final decision. Consideration will be given to diversity of career stage, specialty and geography of award winners.

Application Deadline: March 31, 2021.

Questions? Email:

How to Apply: Email your nomination letter in PDF format to:

The winner(s) will be announced at the 2021 CWIM Conference to be held virtually.

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page